8 Things To Know, As a Startup Employee

Renee Shaw
4 min readNov 20, 2023

There are two types of people in the world. Those who’ve worked in startups, and those with healthy resting heart rate.

Here’s 8 pieces of hard-won wisdom that brought me back down to earth and reshaped my perspective when working few my last few roles.

Assume best intent

Early on, when projects stalled or milestones were missed, I’d instantly think “Who didn’t carry their weight?” After all, we were professionals who should know better, right?

A mentor redirected my impulse to blame-

“Assume nothing malicious happened. People do their best. Unexpected obstacles arise despite good intentions.”

I shifted to leading with empathy first, not accusation.

Making others shine multiplies success

When I secretly relished creating a design that outshone our team lead’s, I expected kudos for my cleverness.

Look what I’d achieved alone!

me

A senior leader suggested a different mindset

“Make others look good, they’ll like you more.”

--

--